Allan & Leslie Spencer with Marian Budos

Allan & Leslie Spencer with Marian Budos

The Cooma Music Competition was a huge succes. This was the ninth year for this event.

There were over 50 items performed during the day time heats which had a total of 15 catagories which cover a huge range of ages, doctor instruments and musical genres. Over the 6 hours of performance, youth health the contestants gave their all. The winners of their heats were then invited back to perform in the finals concert held at St Paul’s Anglican Parish hall in the evening.
women’s health Arial, ‘lucida grande’, tahoma, verdana, arial, sans-serif;”>This year, Marian Budos came from Canberra to be our judge for the competition. Mr Budos is the head of the music department at Alfred Deakin High School in Canberra. He was until recently, the president of Canberra Youth Music which has over 5,000 children participating in various music ensembles including the Canberra Youth Orchestra, James McCusker Orchestra, Canberra Youth Jazz Orchestra, plus many other concert bands and choirs. Mr Budos is also an internationally recognized composer and classical guitarist. He has been judging for our Cooma Music Competition and the Australian National Busking Championships for many years.



All the winners of their heats receive a special medal

Kai Bakker, won the Solo Piano Secondary Heat plus the Peter de Jager Piano Prize

Kai Bakker, won the Solo Piano Secondary Heat plus the Peter de Jager Piano Prize

  • Solo Piano – Primary: Ella Mrsic
  • Solo Piano – Secondary: Kai Bakker
  • Solo Strings – Primary: Ella Mrsic
  • Solo Woodwind – Secondary: Caitlyn Ventura
  • Small Instrumental Ensemble – Primary: GuitarBOTs – Brenna Clayton, Olo Brademann & Troy Rees
  • Solo Classical Guitar – Primary: Brenna Clayton
  • Solo Classical Guitar – Secondary: Brunum Brunum Brademann
  • Small Instrumental Ensemble – Secondary: String Quartet – Craysha Coote, Emma Ventura, Caitlyn Ventura, Sarah Ventura
  • Contemporary Guitar: Ben Turner-Mann
  • Solo Voice – Primary: Georgia Knowles
  • Solo Voice – Secondary: Mae Walker
  • Solo Voice – Open: Matt Charlesworth
  • Group Voice – Secondary: Branscomb Twins – Emily & Kelsey Branscomb
  • Group Voice – Open: Alice Plumb & Matilda Lawler
  • Original Composition – Secondary: Alice Tame
  • Original Composition – Open: Alice Plumb


  • Frank Scott Music Award (Trophy plus $50 cash) – Caitlyn Ventura
  • Russell & Jackie Fox Music Award (Trophy plus $50 cash) – Matt Charlesworth
  • P D Murphy Award for Strings (Trophy plus $50 cash) – James Hines
  • Peter de Jager Piano Prize (Trophy plus $200 cash) – Kai Bakker
  • Narrawong Classical Guitar Award (Trophy plus $200 cash) – Burnum Burnum Brademann
  • Ron Cox Music Award (Trophy plus $100 cash) – Tim Cooke
  • Award for Original Composition (Trophy plus $50 cash) – Alice Plumb
  • Peoples Choice Award (Trophy plus $100 cash) – Mae Walker


Casio is the number one selling brand of domestic portable keyboards and digital pianos in Australia. Since 1957 Casio has been a world leader in digital technology.

The Casio brand has always beeen associated with quality, mind
innovation and affordability.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.